Me Before You

By Jojo Moyes

 

My Rating: Grab All The Tissues

 

Description:

They had nothing in common until love gave them everything to lose . . .

Louisa Clark is an ordinary girl living an exceedingly ordinary life—steady boyfriend, close family—who has barely been farther afield than their tiny village. She takes a badly needed job working for ex–Master of the Universe Will Traynor, who is wheelchair bound after an accident. Will has always lived a huge life—big deals, extreme sports, worldwide travel—and now he’s pretty sure he cannot live the way he is.

Will is acerbic, moody, bossy—but Lou refuses to treat him with kid gloves, and soon his happiness means more to her than she expected. When she learns that Will has shocking plans of his own, she sets out to show him that life is still worth living.

A Love Story for this generation and perfect for fans of John Green’s The Fault in Our StarsMe Before You brings to life two people who couldn’t have less in common—a heartbreakingly romantic novel that asks, What do you do when making the person you love happy also means breaking your own heart?

 

Details:

Oh man let me pull myself together to write out the details... okay here goes. We meet Louisa Clark, a twenty-something, who lives with her family who are all pretty much struggling.  Louisa loses her job working in a cafe and comes across the opportunity to become a care giver.  While she has zero experience at this, she has the personality and well that is half the battle right?  And then there is Will, Will is the poor bastard that was left a quadriplegic due to getting hit by a motorcyclist when trying to get into a taxi. 

Louisa is hired by Will's mother Camilla, and we are introduced to Nathan who will provide the actual medical care that Will requires.  Let's face it... Will starts out as a real bastard (can you blame him?). Will keeps being dealt one terrible blow after another: confined to a chair, unable to care for himself, constant pneumonia battles, etc.  Then we get to meet Will's ex-girlfriend who is now engaged to his friend, they got together after Will's accident (nice huh?). 

Louisa and Will being to form a bond and Will beings to soften around her.  I have to switch to spoilers now because this is when it all goes down, or comes to light, or whatever expression you prefer to use... 

 

Spoilers:

I just didn't know where this book was going.  I read it before the movie came out so I didn't know what I was getting into and of course held out hope for a happy ending... yeah, not so much. 

Louisa notices scars on Will's wrists (uh oh) then gets to overhear a conversation between Camilla and Will's sister discussing what is really going on.  Basically Will told his family he is done with it all, done with needing help, done living depending on everyone for everything, just done.  He had a huge life before and has now been reduced to such a sad existence. He tells his mother he will be going to Switzerland to a clinic that will help him end his life.  Of course his family was devastated but managed to talk Will into 6 more months before he made that final decision.  So basically Louisa is there as the families last effort to save Will's life. Louisa is obviously saddened to hear this and not sure what to do (she actually quit for about a minute when she found out) but talks it over with her sister and they come up with a plan for Louisa and Will to go on adventures (with medical care from Nathan) so that Will will (there is no other way to type that) want to live.

We find out some really dark stuff from Louisa's past.  It is hard to get into and just throw out there but basically she survived an act of violence by three boys.  As a result she has sheltered herself and been to afraid to see the world.  The only person that knows about this is her sister Trina. This sheds a little more light on Louisa and why she keeps to herself and doesn't really dream big the way Will did when he was healthy. 

I should also mention Louisa had a very boring boyfriend through a lot of the book (I can't even remember his name) but he was obsessed with track and mostly ignored Louisa. He got jealous and weird around Will and well they eventually fell apart (she should have dumped him way earlier) I think it was just put in to show much of an effect Will had on every part of Louisa's life and how he made her see she deserved better. 

Ok so truth is I am reaching (it has been a long time since I have read this book) but there is the most wonderful scene (I haven't seen the movie but I think its played up in the movie as well) where Louisa basically steps out of her quirky cocoon and puts on a beautiful vintage dress and Will takes her to a theater.  It is the most wonderful and romantic night and when you find out the ending of this book it will further drive the knife in and twist a little more. Also Louisa and Will attend the wedding of that awful ex girlfriend and ex friend, they dance and flirt and you can watch them fall for each other. 

Ok I am stalling... so basically Louisa plans the most magical trip (I want to say it was to California) and had all these activities ready to go that were especially for quads well Will gets VERY sick as they are about to go.  I seriously thought that was it for Will but he hangs on.  She has to cancel the trip but over time he gets a little better and she, Will and Nathan are able to take a nice trip (less grand, more relaxing) to Mauritius. Again we can see the love continue between these two and it's wonderful and warm and fuzzy (damn you Jojo Moyes).  Well Louisa goes and tells Will that she loves him and that she knows of what he was originally planning.  Will tells her (gasp!) that it is still his plan (cue the most intense plane ride ever). Will comes home happy and Louisa comes home and quits. 

Then it happens, Switzerland time, and it's horrible.  Louisa does find Will and they talk and share their feelings of love and how much they mean to each other but Will still goes through with it (would you believe me if I told you I was sitting at my computer crying as I write this uggggh). 

Turns out Will ended up leaving Louisa quite a bit of money, he sets her up with enough to live her life with, go to school, travel the world, etc.  Louisa reads and learns about this while sitting at Will's favorite cafe in Paris.  

My Thoughts:

Oh the tears.  I thought this was an excellent book, far departure from my usual thrillers but oh so good.  If you want a good cry this is the book for you.